Erlang In My Head (Part 2.1) – Feedback

I’d like to thank Angel for my first piece of valuable Erlang-related feedback.

I made a newbie goof with my string reversal code, in that I hit the same limitation I had with my recursive Python example. Python isn’t optimised for tail recursion, but Erlang is: provided you write code that takes advantage of this feature.

For those that don’t know what tail recursion is, and I must admit I was hazy about it until I wrote this post, I’ll use my original code and Angel’s tail recursion optimised code for illustration. First, my attempt:

reverse_string([Head|Tail]) ->
    reverse_string(Tail) ++ [Head];
reverse_string([]) ->
    [].

It looks nice and simple, and it’ll work, but there’s one problem: it still consumes stack space. The reason is that my first clause calls itself first, then appends the result of the call to the [Head]. Each time we make a recursive call, we store state on the stack, because there’s code waiting to execute based on the result. We keep adding to the stack until we hit the end of the recursive calls, then start popping the state off as we work our way back until we’ve built our fully reversed string. Fine for short strings, not so good when reversing larger ones.

Angel’s solution is this:

reverse_string(Str) ->
    reverse_string(Str,[]).
reverse_string([Head|Tail],Acc) ->
    reverse_string(Tail,Head++Acc);
reverse_string([],Acc) ->
    Acc.

The important thing to note is that the recursive calls are always last in each clause. Hence the term “tail recursion” – the recursive call is at the tail of the code. Because there’s no code waiting on the result of subsequent calls, we gain an important optimisation: when we reach the end of the recursive calls, we can jump right back to the beginning. Erlang’s compiler is smart enough to identify this and optimise the code accordingly. Much more efficient.

Okay, let’s run through the code, both for my own benefit and for any other Erlang newbies reading this post.

reverse_string(Str) takes the string and calls reverse_string with two arguments: the string Str and an empty list. What’s the empty list for? Well, take a look at the second clause:

reverse_string([Head|Tail],Acc)

This splits the string into a Head and Tail, the same approach I took on my original version. However, the important thing is the addition of a second argument Acc, which stores our work-in-progress. The clause then makes the recursive call as the only, and thus tail, call: supplying the Tail and the concatenation of Head to Acc. As we recurse, we build up Acc into our reversed string. All good so far.

Finally, the last clause matches the situation when we have an empty string, our end condition, and simply returns whatever we’ve accumulated in Acc. Erlang knows that there is no further work to do with each of the previous calls, and can therefore skip straight back to the beginning with the result. Excellent!

Further reading:

Leave a Reply

