10 Minutes With Django’s TestCase

I’ve been playing with Django for a while now, but today was the first day writing proper production code which will end up on a public-facing website. It will be the first Django application in use by the company, so there’s a lot riding on getting it right.

Django is great for writing web applications quickly and easily – whenever I hit upon a problem, I find something in Django that already does what I need, or I can implement something small in Python that fills in the gap.

One really nice feature is that it’s easy to test Django using both of Python’s in-built testing frameworks: unittest and doctest. I’m not a fan of doctests, though I can see why some people find them useful. I do love unittest though, and so it’s great that Django has provided enhancements to unittest to support things like basic browser client tests, loading test data fixtures and using a test database (sqlite is great for this).

The client doesn’t aim to replace dedicated web test systems such as Selenium, Windmill or Twill. It just offers a lightweight way to test your Django application’s functionality out-of-the-box. You can check response codes, test which template is being rendered, fire test data to forms, or check for text in returned pages. This was very useful today when fleshing out the first part of the application: a form with various fields, buttons, drop-downs and validation logic. I could write my tests first, a bit at a time, then implement the functionality to pass the tests. Supported by the confidence given by the tests, I could check the specified logic was correct, keep refactoring the code, and keep the design supple at the same time.

Of course, I will eventually need to invest in dedicated web testing, probably Selenium, but for the moment the Django TestCase gives me a very quick and flexible way to check functionality while things are changing frequently. Django rocks!

Further reading:

Leave a Reply

